Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Candidates slow to file as Aug. 12 deadline nears

J-E News Editor
With the filing deadline for non-partisan races in the November general election quickly approaching, the Webster County Clerk’s office has seen a surprising lack of activity. All city council/commission positions, as well as each mayoral positions in the county are up for election this November.

Only four candidates have filed for the various city council positions throughout the county. Council members Pete O’Nan and Jim Allen Williams have filed for re-election to the Sebree Council, while Providence councilman Doug Hammers has also filed for re-election. Former Providence council member Robert Hatcher has also filed to run for the Providence council.
No mayoral candidates had filed for election as of press time.
There will also be three school board positions up for re-election this year. The two most senior board members, board chairman Jeff Pettit of the Slaughters District and Tim McCormick of Clay, have reached the end of their term. Although Providence’s seat on the board is not scheduled to be re-elected for three years, Venita Murphy, who was appointed to fill the position vacated by David Higgins, must seek re-election in order to complete the four year term.
Candidates wishing to be on the ballot must file their paperwork at the county clerk’s office before 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday, August 12, 2014.
Other positions that are already on the November ballot:
US Rep (1st Dist)
Charles Kendall Hatch-
ett - Dem
Ed Whitfield - Rep *
State Senator (4th Dist)
Dorsey Ridley  *
State Rep. (12th Dist)
Jim Gooch - Dem *
Dianne Burns Mackey 
- Rep 
Property Valuation Administrator
Jeffrey D. Kelley *
Judge Executive
James R. “Jim”  
Magistrate District 1
Chad Townsend *
Magistrate District 2
Jerry “Poogie” Brown *
Magistrate District 3
Tony Felker *
Webster County Jailer
Terry Elder * - Dem
Jason Branson - Indep.
Webster County 
Clint Prow *
Webster County Clerk
Valerie Newell *
Webster County Sheriff
Frankie Springfield *
Webster County Coroner
Larry Vanover *
Circuit Court Judge
C. Rene’ Williams
Family Court Judge
Brandi Rogers
Ben Leanord
Constable District 2
Dennis Shelton *
Constable District 3
Mark Turner *
* Denotes Incumbent

No comments:

Post a Comment