Wednesday, May 28, 2014

WCHS's first graduating class to celebrate 50th anniversary

J-E News Editor
This year’s Webster County High School graduates will share something special with graduates of the past. Next Friday’s graduation services will mark the 50th Anniversary of WCHS’s very first graduating class.

“We’re including the 1st graduating class in our ceremony,” said WCHS Principal Tim Roy.
As of Monday, May 19, 2014, 33 members of the class of 1964 had RSVP to attend the graduation of the class of 2014.
Glenda Scott was selected by her peers to address the current graduates on behalf of the class of ‘64.
The very first graduating class of WCHS produced two valedictorians. Ernestine Clayton, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. R.G. Clayton of Providence and Tommie Anne Woods, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Tommy Woods of Sebree. The salutatorian was Dianna Glassow, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William N. Glassow of Sebree.
The May 14, 1964 edition of The Journal-Enterprise said, “All three girls have been extremely active during their four years in high school.”
The article went on to describe the activities of each graduate. Clayton was secretary of the FBLA, FHA reporter and a typist on the yearbook staff. Woods was secretary of the Math Club and Senior Basketball Queen Attendant. Glassow was reporter of the FBLA, assistant librarian of the school library and club editor of the school newspaper.
The current set of WCHS honor students shared a passion for extracurricular activities with their counterparts from the past.
Valedictorian Sarah Steely was member of 4-H, serving on the 4-H State Teen Council, Marketing Committee and was co-chairman of the Healthy Living/ Yearly Project Committee. She was also vice president of the WC Young Republicans, reporter for the YES Youth Council, Vice President of BETA Club, and a member of the FFA and Academic Team.
Salutatorian Macye Davis also participated in a number of clubs and held various leadership roles. She was the Leadership Committee Chairman and Secretary of Office for FFA; she was also a member of FCA, BETA Club, YES Youth Council, Prom Committee, the basketball team, the softball team and the golf team.
Salutatorian Baylee VanWinkle was secretary of the Young Politicians Club and served as both secretary and vice president of the YES Youth Council. She also a member of BETA Club, Pep Club and the Tennis Team.

The Class of 1964: 
Donald Allen
Calvin Babb
Mary Bell
Bill Black
David  Blackburn
Eva Blankenship
Disney Braden
Mary Sue Bradley
Larry  Branson
Stanley Brantley
Brenda Brooks
Glenda Brown
Vicky Brown
Darlena Buchanan
Donald Burton
Phyllis Chandler
Judy Clark
Sharon Clark
Ernistine Clayton
Brenda Corneius
A.B. Cottingham
Roy Cowan
James Crouse
Noble Crowley
Billy Curry
Tressa Daniel
Brenda Demoss
Dorris Dickerson
Marion Floyd
Danny Gardner
Jessie  Gardner
Danny Gardner
Paul Gardner
Robert Gish
Ronald Gish
Mary Givens
Diana Glassow
Barb Gower
Juun Gower
Wilma Greenfield
Dianna Hall
Roy Lee Hancock
Shirley Harris
Paul Harvey
Joe Hayes
Donna Hendrix
Emery Herrin
Betty Higdon
Ronald Hill
Johny Holmes
Laura Holt
William Holt
James Householder
Bobby Hunter
Diana Jackson
Reva Jennings
Connie Jones
Sammie Kirby
Beatrice Kurts
Gloria Landreth
Brenda Lewis
Richard Litchfield
Brenda Littlepage
Ann Luck
Johny Majors
James Maraman
Ronald Marsh
Patricia McCormick
Thelma McMican
Pauletta Mooney
Charlotte Nance
Nancy Nance
Norman O’Nan
Brenda Overfield
Sandra Parker
Martha Patterson
Milburn Phillips
Patricia Price
Billy Puckett
Amelia Rakestraw
Charlotte Ray
Elizabeth Rhea
Diane  Riden
Ivan Russell
Shirley Scarbrough
Glenda Scott
Jackie Scott
Jerry Shelton
Patricia Shields
Johnny Stevens
Jerry Tapp
Wanda Tapp
Betty Tompkins
James Townsend
Richard Vaughn
George Watson
Jackie Watson
Lylo Watson
Cheryl Whitledge
Sara Wilkerson
Savannah Williams
Gary Williams
Mary Wilson
Elmer Winstead
Tommie Woods
James Yates
Andrea Zerfross
Linda Zetler